A'ja, Anger, Algorithms & Airlines šŸ›«šŸ“ˆ

What this Week Means for the Future šŸ”®

The WNBA has just tipped off, and we already have three big stories before the first bucket.

One, of course Aā€™ja has a shoe, which Nike announced with clever merch, a landing page, and great copywriting.
But my favorite part of this annoucnement is the attention to details. There's a swoosh as the apostrophe, and it just doesn't get better than that. As a mentor at Nike once told me, ā€œThe Details Matter to Those Who Matter.ā€

Sources have been sending me these retail storefronts all over South Carolina. I don't think these will be permanent retail storefronts. Sometimes when storefronts haven't been used, you can use them as ā€˜Out of Homeā€™ - or translated in English, advertising billboards. I would bet that there's a limited time pop up shop when the shoe releases.
I believe these ads drove a majority of the search interest in South Carolina.

Enragement = Engagement

But the thing I find most interestingā€¦ if you need a reminder of how social media works, enragement equals engagement.
More search traffic was happening when people were upset about Catilinā€™s announcement versus when Aā€™jaā€™s shoe was actually announced. I can't wait to see all of the outraged people crashing SNKRS the day that this Aā€™One releases.

Two, while Aā€™ja didn't get a ceremonial title with her signature shoe, Candace Parker over at Adidas did. She is now the president of women's basketball. What does it mean? Time will tell, but athletes are no longer just athletes. They don't want endorsement deals, they want equity, they want titles. This is a trend you will continue to see. And it's a great one.

Delta X WNBA

Last but not least, Delta has stepped up to be the charter flight provider for the WNBA. The ladies haven't had charter flights before, and now they will. Delta will get great brand value out of this. In flight, pre flight & arrival flight social shares are common in sports, and these- along with positive community sentiment- should provide a lot of brand value.

If brands are smart, theyā€™ll invest in womenā€™s sports quickly, because this flight has been cleared for take off.

Education:
If youā€™re trying to grow in the creative realm, I highly recommend checking out my buddy Orenā€™s latest YouTube. Sound & sage advice for all.

Or, you can always visit HowToGetAJobAtNike.com for some of my career resources & advice as well.

Blessings:

If Enragement = Engagement, where are you allowing yourself to get enraged & what could you do to change that?
The News industry thrives upon your fight or flight reflex and social algorithms do too.
I watch so many people constantly get outraged by things they canā€™t control. I used to do this, but finally got fed up in 2021. Now, I channel that energy and focus on serving my family first, serving with my feet on the ground in my community and online where possible.
Who could you bless with your energy?

The Next Generation:
s/o to the HUSTLER Thai Saechao who helped me put this newsletter together this week. Heā€™s looking for a role in Sports Marketing, so connect with him if youā€™re looking for someone with initiative & intelligence.