Landing A Sports Marketing Job 🏈

LIVE Workshop TONIGHT⚡️

The Portfolios that succeeded.

These are the portfolios that got me my jobs at Nike.

If you're trying to get a role in marketing or creativity, you need to be able to show your competence and the work that you've done in a very visual fashion

I'm going to break these down in a workshop TONIGHT.  At 7:30p CST, I’ll guide you through the foundations of a good career, (the ground floor) creative ways to get in the side door and ways & expectations to LEVEL UP your documents. If you can’t join,

A picture is worth a thousand words. In career training, we're taught to do a word document resume in black and white. Well, if you're trying to get in a really cool job in something like sports or marketing, a lot of words is not going to help you. So you can tell people that you did some work, or you can show them through pictures and images of the work that you've done.

This is aligning with the type of communication style that happens inside of big companies like Nike. My whole job in brand marketing at Nike was basically building decks all day and walking people through presentations. In all of these scenarios, I put together an outline and a rough framework and worked with a graphic designer as a friend and bribed them to help me make these better.

That is not cheating.

That is actually just showing the skills that you would be using in a role as a marketer. You were trying to pull together talented people to get work to come together. So this first one was for the Ekin job, which is one of the hardest jobs to get at Nike. And I created a DVD. I create a short film telling my story through a bunch of sneakers and shoes that I wore throughout the years.

The opportunity here is to use visuals to guide people through the work that we've done and what we stand for.

If you can’t join tonight, you can register to get the recording that will be sent out after, or get the always on version here.

Whether you take this workshop or not, I hope you find something you love doing. It can add 8-10 years to your life and allow you to stick through the hardest days.

The Brand Brothers go to BOSTON THIS WEEK for a special episode at INBOUND, Hubspot’s Creator Conference.
If you’re in the area, join us for a Run at Tracksmith’s Retail Store.

Click Here to Submit your Best & Worst from 2024

Blessings:
“To love is to be inconvenienced.”

I’ve been enjoying this series from a Pastor about STORY.

This episode in particular. I hope it blesses you like’s it’s blessed me!