Sports & Athleisure? Same Same.

Join Me on YouTube to Break it Down!

If you care about Sports Marketing, you should be asking…
What the heck is happening to Outdoor Voices?!
This is the source of my new YouTube video, breaking down the rise & fall of Athleisure’s darling brand.
What does this have to do with Sports Marketing?
I’m so glad you asked.

Athleisure & Sports are quickly occupying the same realm. Skims is sponsoring the NBA, Lulu is making Olympic uniforms, Nike has a new “Wellness Collective”.
And no athleisure brand has had a bigger impact on this space since Lululemon than Outdoor Voices.

But last week, the brand that took on Nike and Lululemon is laying off people again and closing all of their stores. It has been a rollercoaster ride for this brand.

And it is the source of my new long-form video on YouTube.
Y'all have been asking for longer form content. I'm finally committed to doing it. So instead of 60 seconds, You can get over 10 minutes on YouTube where I'll show you how sports marketing and athleisure are all becoming the same thing, how Nike set up its business model, and how Ty Haney (& Outdoor Voices) totally exploited that through a genius idea serving a consumer that was underserved previously.

Nike’s Biz Model Gave Way to Women Founders

I've even got a breakdown of women's athleisure brands, from aspirational to affordable and fun to serious. We cover the whole gamut.



I'll also tell you how I dodged a bullet from the second interview I was about to have with Ty Haney before she got pushed out of her company right before the pandemic. 😅

It bums me out to see a brand that was taking the world by storm get acquired by 🕵️‍♂️ checks notes 📝 Consortium Brand Partners.

Join me, as we dive in.

Next week, we can talk Bandit Running’s genius marketing at the Olympic Trials. 1.5m people found it interesting 🤯

Education & Resources:
Every Friday at 9a PST/Noon EST, the Brand Brothers AKA Oren, Ashwinn, Bimma (3 of the smartest gentlemen in this space) and Myself will go LIVE to discuss the latest in Marketing & Branding. You can tune in through YouTube on my channel, or on Twitter Spaces through Oren.
If you missed last week, we hit Kendrick X Amazon, Bose/Beats/Skullcandy battle, Dr Pepper’s Tik Tok, Liquid Death and more…see you Friday.

Blessings:
Rodger Federer blessed Dartmouth with a commencement speech. It’s incredible and makes me want to be a better speaker! I hope you are better because of these :60 too.